Author Topic: Newbie  (Read 319 times)

Zeb

• Physician
    • View Profile
    • Grateful Akers Farm & Apiary
« on: September 14, 2019, 08:52:23 AM »
So excited to find Agroshare, this concept is GREAT! Our society desperately needs communities like this to foster more sustainable lifestyles as our population grows and nature struggles. I'm a Family Medicine intern planning on going into rural primary care, with idealistic visions of a holistic medical practice paying particular attention to mental health. I'm also passionate about small-scale farming and sustainability, but have struggled to find a way to effectively integrate my love for family medicine with my passion for sustainable agriculture. My wife and I have a small "hobby-farm" in Green Pond, AL. We were making decent progress in raising much of our own vegetables and meat, but since starting residency we have had to scale back and rely more on broader society than we like. Nonetheless, our goal is to steadily become more self-sufficient using sustainable and minimal-impact farming practices, and I am so excited to find this community.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2019, 09:18:30 AM by Zeb »
Farmer | Family Physician
Grateful Akers Farm & Apiary
Tannehill, AL | GratefulAkers.com

dredman

• Administrator
  • Webmaster for AgroShare.com
    • View Profile
    • My Web Business
Re: Newbie
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2019, 10:47:54 AM »
After reading your intro, and seeing all your other posts, I determined you are exactly what we need here at Agroshare - a leader.  You clearly have the technical knowledge to lead this community (as evidenced by your posts, this intro, and your signature).  How would you feel about becoming a moderator?  Right now it would only require a few minutes/month of time, and you clearly have an interest in our goals?

My biggest other question is:  How did you find us?